Bella’s Bunting

Sorry for the absence but life with a new baby is seldom conducive to being able to write!

So bunting. I do love a bit of bunting and my all time favourite magazine Simply Crochet spoils me with gorgeous bunting in each issue. One of these beautiful patterns caught Bella’s eye and she asked me to make it for her bedroom. Who am I to refuse my little Squig (short for Squiglet, her nickname since birth). 20140223-083548.jpg

The pattern is worked in rounds starting with a magic circle/ring. Now I class myself as an advanced beginner in crochet terms and the magic circle/ring has always been difficult for me, I have watched countless tutorials on Y0utube, read how to do it in magazines but it never quite works out right so I sort of bodge it so it does the job! The one thing I found about this pattern (found in Issue 13) is that it works up very quickly due to the weight of the yarn and the hook size. The yarn is DROPS Paris and so soft, I had a few issues to start with as it’s the first time I’ve crocheted with a cotton blend and the tiny strands did get caught but I soon got used to it!

The design is simply gorgeous and would work for Christmas decorations with white, red or sparkly yarn. It works just as well with DK yarn and a 4mm hook; I’m thinking of getting some Wendy Supreme Sparkle DK in time for Christmas.

The main thing I adore about this bunting is the ombré effect of the colours, so pleasing and striking. Bella loves red and pink so this bunting was perfect for her room which is decorated in cream and red.

1508403_10153863924900167_1488874022_n

For finishing I made two slight adjustments. One was to block and starch the bunting, for it to hang right around Bella’s mirror this was a must. The second was to join each star to the chain with a dc, this holds the stars in the right place so they don’t slip when hung.

I am hoping that as Rosie gets older I can finish projects quicker.

 

Yeah that’s not going to happen is it?

What do you think?

